Call For Nominations - Sustainability Awards

The UCSF Advisory Committee on Sustainability (UACS) is pleased to announce the seventh annual Sustainability Awards for FY16-17, where Chancellor Hawgood will recognize individuals and groups for their contributions to sustainability at UCSF. Deadline is April 30, 2017.

Nominate a UCSF Green Champion!

Please take a moment to nominate a green champion—staff, student, faculty or a team who deserves recognition for their sustainability efforts in the past year. 

The ideal candidate is an individual or group that has:

  • Engaged the campus/medical center in an ongoing dialogue about reaching UCSF’s environmental sustainability goals;
  • Gone above and beyond the duties of their position to integrate environmental sustainability into existing campus programs in education, research, operations, and public service;
  • Instilled a culture of sustainable practices amongst their peers; and/or
  • Responsible for a positive impact on our sustainability goals.

    The nominee must be employed or enrolled at UCSF or an affiliate of UCSF.  Nominators must specify the person or team that best fulfilled the selection criteria listed above.  Self-nominations are permissible and encouraged.

    Please complete the nomination form and send to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for consideration. 
    Winners will be announced at a special ceremony on June 20th at Mission Bay by the Chancellor.

    Winners will receive an environmentally friendly award certificate, campus-wide recognition, and be eligible for scholarship to attend the Annual Sustainability in Higher Education Conference to be held June 26 - 29, 2017 at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

    Cynthia Chiarappa, MBA
    Vice President Administration and Chief of Staff to Mark Laret
    Co-Chair of the UCSF Advisory Committee on Sustainability

    Robert Stickney
    Interim Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Real Estate, Planning and Capital Programs
    Co-Chair of the UCSF Advisory Committee on Sustainability

    Below are a list of past winners:



  • Team Category:
  • The EARTHEALTH1 team from the School of Medicine, which included Alex Scrhobenhauser-Clonan, Annemarie Donjacour, Royce Harner, and Alanya den Boer.



  • Student Category:
  • Dr. Corinna Zygourakis, a resident physician in the neurosurgery program at UCSF.




  • Staff Category:
  •   Dr. Hyunil Jo, Specialist, UCSF School of Pharmacy




  • Staff Category Medical Center:
  • Sarah Berger, RN, medical surgery ICU




  • Faculty Category:
  • Arianne Teherani, PhD Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and research faculty member in the Office of Research and Development in Medical Education




  • Team Category:
  • The Mt. Zion Cancer Research Engineering team, Michael Dziadek, Alberto Alfaro, and Marco Dias



  • Student Category:
  • Anya Desai, a third year medical student



  • Medical Center Staff Category:
  •   Yelena Libova, a registered nurse in the Neurological ICU



  • Staff Category:
  • Todd McGregory, Assistant Director of Housing Administration for Campus Life Services and a volunteer member of the Water Conservation Work Group


  • Faculty Category:
  • Dr. Gina Solomon, an occupational and environmental medicine specialist



  • Team Category:
  • Mission Bay Conference Center


  • Medical Center Staff Category:
  •   Deborah Don




  • Staff Category:
  • Kim Klausner, UCSF Industry Documents Digital Library Manager




  • Faculty Category:
  • Dan Ciccarone






    Group photo

  • Team Category:
  • Remedy at UCSF, a student-run organization




  • Student Category:
  • Rebekah McLaughlin, PhD, Bio-engineering



  • Medical Center Staff Category:
  • Jack Henderson, Associate Director of Nutrition and Food Services (NFS) 




  • Staff Category:
  • Adele Dow, facility manager at the Helen Diller Family Cancer Research Building and Mount Zion Cancer Research Building




  • Faculty Category:
  • Tracey Woodruff, Associate Professor and Director of UCSF’s Program on Reproductive Health and the Environment






  • Team Category:
  • Operating Room Reprocessing Team – James Bennan, Chris Bogan, Dr. Jonathan Carter, Robing Diehlman, Debbie Gee, Mike James, Joyce Nacario, Kevin Pattison, Christine Pollak, Dr. Stan Rogers, Dr. Susan Ryan, Susan Schubert, Valerie Sullivan, Donna Tramontozzi, and Sandra Wienholz

  • Student Category:
  • Eddie Book Residents, Pediatrics Department, led by Catherine Ratti, UCSF Pediatric Residency Program Manager, and three second year residents, Suratha Elongo, Adam Schickedanz, and Maura Madou


  • Medical Center Staff Category:
  • Lisa Hartmayer, RN, UCSF Orthopedic Institute






  • Staff Category:
  •   Kristen Fitzhenry, Undergraduate Medical Education, School of Medicine Dean’s Office



  • Faculty Category:
  • Sandrijn van Schaik, MD, Assistant Clinical Professor, Pediatrics